Revitalized Agreement

R-ARCSS is an agreement to revive the August 2015 ARCSS, which temporarily ended South Sudan`s first civil war, which broke out on December 13, 2013. Between August 2015 and June 2016, ARCSS played a significant role in preventing confrontations between key parties to the conflict and until July 2016, when conflicts erupted. “We are here to help the government and people of South Sudan implement the renewed peace agreement, and we can only do so by working closely with traditional grassroots leaders. In this way, everyone will gain the knowledge they need to build the lasting peace that South Sudan needs,” he said. Overall, the development of trust, cooperation and cooperation between the parties in the implementation of the R-ARCSS will be the greatest companion to success. While it is the view that, in prolonged and persistent conflicts, warate parties often sign peace agreements under political pressure to end human suffering, the peace process is often an opportunity not only to strengthen and strengthen the neglected or imperfect provisions of the Peace Pact, but also to detoxify political relations, change political attitudes and restore unity. That is why the commitment of the R-ARCSS parties to invest in attitudes, institutions and structures that strengthen peace and resilience in South Sudan will be essential. Leaders, in cooperation with all parties involved, must strive to preserve the essential pillars of positive peace – that is, a functioning government, democracy and the rule of law, a business-friendly environment, equitable allocation of resources and the development of human capital. Most importantly, the ability to establish and implement peace-building structures and systems that can proactively prevent and manage and resolve future conflicts will be critical to the implementation of the R-ARCSS.

Given the history of conflict in South Sudan and its current classification as the world`s most fragile state, such tasks should never be considered simple and simplistic.19 The RTGoNU cabinet, As stipulated in the agreement, there are 35 ministers – 20 from the TGoNU in office, 9 from SPLM/A-IO, three from SSOA, two former detainees and one by other political parties – and 10 deputy ministers (five from the current TGoNU, three from SPLM/A-IO, one from SSOA and one from other political parties). The newly formed Parliament is very inflated, with 550 MPs – 332 from the TGoNU in office, 128 from the SPLM/A-IO, 50 from SSOA, 30 from other political parties and 10 former detainees.